Michelle’s Story

Back to the hub

CELEBRATING 30 YEARS WITH YOU

I’m Michelle, I’m 79 years old. I was brought up in an orphanage where I spent the first 21 years of my life. When I was 10, a tractor at the orphanage rolled over my leg which left my leg in a mess and with ongoing ulceration problems.

I retired from work in 1980, from the St Andrews War Memorial Hospital, where I worked in the dining area, kitchen and laundry. These days, I love singing in a choir called With One Voice, where I sing as a soprano.

I first became involved with Footprints over 20 odd years ago when it was called Community Options and it was located in Commercial Road. Some mates from the orphanage, Johnny, Ranga and Scruffy first encouraged me to go and I’ve been with Footprints ever since.

These days, I have to depend on other people because I can’t do some of the things that I used to be able to do. So, I have in-home support workers who visit to do my cleaning and laundry, and they take me to hospital and medical appointments. At the moment, I have a level 3 home care package and my Case Manager, CeeJay, who is pictured with me, is working hard to increase these services. CeeJay is a lovely person who really looks after me.

Some time ago, I changed my gender from male to female, so being accepted and respected is important to me. I believe that if you show respect that you will receive respect in return. I have the utmost respect for CeeJay and my in-home support workers and I am so grateful that they show me respect in return.

I’m a bit of a colourful character, and it brings me joy when I make other people smile.

Download a pdf version of Michelle’s story.

 


 

Recent Articles

Footprints 2021 Art Exhibition invite banner
Events

EXTERNALISE:
Footprints 2021 Art Exhibition and Silent Auction

Footprints 2021 Art Exhibition invite banner
Events

2021 Art Exhibition and Silent Auction: Photo Gallery